

THE PRESIDENCY

EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT CHIEF OF STAFF AND HEAD OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE

Telegraphic Address

Telephone: +254-020-2227436

STATE HOUSE P.O. Box 40530 – 00100 NAIROBI, KENYA

Ref: DNC/COH/ 4/18/VOL. V/ 28th March, 2017

All Cabinet Secretaries,

All Principal Secretaries/Accounting Officers,

The Comptroller State House,

The Controller and Auditor-General,

The Controller of Budget,

The Clerk, National Assembly,

The Clerk, Senate,

The Chief Registrar, Judiciary,

All Chief Executive Officers, Parastatals and State Corporations,

All Chief Executive Officers, Independent Offices and Commissions,

All Vice Chancellors,

Regional Commissioners,

County Commissioners,

All Secretaries, County Public Service Boards.

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE COMMITMENTS AND WAY FORWARD IN THE 2016 PRESIDENT'S REPORT ON MEASURES TAKEN AND PROGRESS ACHIEVED IN THE REALIZATION OF NATIONAL VALUES AND PRINCIPLES OF GOVERNANCE

H.E. the President delivered the State of the Nation address to Parliament on 15th March, 2017 and outlined among other issues the measures taken and progress achieved in the realization of National Values and Principles of Governance provided for in Article 10 of the Constitution.

I wish to thank the Ministries, Counties, Departments and Agencies (MCDA's) for their contribution and participation in the preparation of the 2016 President's Report on National Values and Principles of Governance. The 2016 President's Report on National Values and Principles of Governance outlines twelve (12) commitments and way forward for implementation as summarized in the table below that indicates the relevant implementing agency:-

NO	COMMITMENT/ WAY FORWARD	IMPLEMENTING INSTITUTION(S)
1.	Continual public awareness creation on National Values and Principles of Governance	The Presidency, All Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), County Public Service Boards (CPSBs), National Government Administration, Directorate of National Cohesion and Values (DNC&VS), Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission (EACC), Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice (OAG&DoJ), Judiciary, Parliament.
2.	Develop innovative ways for promoting National Values and Principles of Governance	The Presidency, Parliament, All MDAs, Public Service Commission (PSC), Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission (EACC), Directorate of National Cohesion and Values (DNC&VS), County Public Service Boards (CPSBs).
3.	Enhancing capacity of MDAs to adhere to the provisions of the Constitution on the National Values and Principles of Governance	The Presidency, All MDAs, Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice (OAG&DoJ), Kenya Law Reform Commission (KLRC), The National Treasury, Judiciary, Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), Independent Commissions and Offices, Directorate of National Cohesion and Values (DNC&VS), Kenya National Audit Office (KENAO).
4.	Implementing key policies to enhance a values culture, harmonious ethnic relations and address abuse of social media	The Presidency, All MDAs, County Governments, National Government Administration, Directorate of National Cohesion and Values (DNC&VS), Judiciary.
5.	Strengthening Inter and Intra-Governmental relations	The Presidency, Parliament, Judiciary, Ministry of Devolution and Planning, Parliament, Executive Office of the President, Ministry of Devolution, County Governments, KLRC, Inter- Governmental Relations Technical Committee (IGRTC), Council of Governors, Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice (OAG&DoJ), Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC), Relevant Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).
6.	Enhancing implementation of policies, legislation, programmes and projects	The Presidency, Parliament, Judiciary, All MDAs, National Government Administration, County Governments, Office of the Attorney General and

7.	Enforcing policies, laws and regulations on the fight against corruption and unethical practices	Department of Justice (OAG&DoJ), Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR), National Gender and Equality Commission (NGEC), Commission on Administrative Justice (CAJ), Relevant Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs). The Presidency, All Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), Parliament, Public Service Commission (PSC), Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission (EACC), Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice (OAG&DoJ), Kenya Law reform Commission (KLRC), Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), Judiciary, National Police Service (NPS), Kenya National Audit Office (KENAO).
8.	Enhancing the rule of law and fast tracking Judicial processes	The Presidency, Parliament, Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government, Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), Judiciary, National Police Service (NPS), Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice (OAG&DoJ), National Government Administration, Relevant Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).
9.	Expanding the resource base and prudent utilization of resources for sustainable development	Parliament, The National Treasury, Office of Controller of Budget, Ministry of Devolution and Planning, County Governments, Inter- Governmental Relations Technical Committee (IGRTC), Relevant Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).
10.	Enforcing the policy on Access to Government Procurement Opportunities (AGPO) and other empowerment programmes	The National Treasury, County Governments, All Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), Public Procurement Oversight Authority (PPOA), Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), Judiciary, Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice (OAG&DoJ).
11.	Enhancing public participation and access to information	The Presidency, Parliament, Judiciary, Ministry of Information, Communication and Technology (ICT), All other Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), County Governments, Communication and Technology (ICT), Commission on Administrative Justice (CAJ), Communication Authority of Kenya (CAK) All Independent Commissions and Offices, Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC).
12.	Addressing existing and emerging security challenges	The Presidency, Parliament, Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government, Ministry of Information, Communication and Technology (ICT), The National Treasury, Central Bank of Kenya, National

Intelligence Service (NIS), Office of the Director of
Public Prosecutions (ODPP), Judiciary, National
Police Service (NPS), Other Relevant Ministries,
Departments and Agencies (MDAs), National
Government Administration.

The implementation of the twelve (12) Commitments and way forward will form part of the 2017 President's Report and the targets for the next performance contracting cycle. Copies of the 2016 President's Report are available at the Government Printer as Special Issue Gazette Notice No. 3101 Kenya Gazette Vol.CXIX-NO.41 dated 31st March, 2017.

Kindly ensure compliance to this Circular and liaise with the Secretary, National Cohesion and Values in the Executive Office of the President on the following contacts for follow up and any other relevant information: Extelcoms House, 10th Floor, Tel. 020-2224029/40/55,

Email: nationalvalues@kenya.go.ke,

Website: www.cohesionandvalues.go.ke

Joseph K. Kinyua, EGH
CHIEF OF STAFF AND HEAD OF PUBLIC SERVICE

Copy to:

Mr. M.M. Ndung'u, EBS Secretary National Cohesion and Values NAIROBI